The Best Salsa Ever

Image

Last week I was looking for a new salsa recipe to try for a little party I was having. I found this recipe by Ree Drummond, a.k.a The Pioneer Woman– IT IS THE BOMB. It’s so simple to make and the flavors are just right. Here’s how I made it:

What you need:

  • 1 can (28 Ounce) Whole Tomatoes With Juice
  • 2 cans (10 Ounce) Rotel (diced Tomatoes And Green Chilies)
  • 1/4 cup Chopped Onion
  • 1 clove Garlic, Minced
  • 1 whole Jalapeno, Quartered And Sliced Thin
  • 1/4 teaspoon Sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Ground Cumin
  • 1/2 cup Cilantro (more To Taste!)
  • 1/2 whole Lime Juice

Note: this is a very large batch. I was able to make all of it using my Kitchen Aid blender. If you have a smaller blender I would recommend blending it in two batches. Combine whole tomatoes, Rotel, onion, jalapeno (with seeds), garlic, sugar, salt, cumin, lime juice, and cilantro in a blender. Test seasonings with a tortilla chip and adjust as needed.

Refrigerate salsa for at least an hour. Serve with tortilla chips.

Money: $5.34 for everything but spices I had on hand. 

TIme: 15 minutes

Ick Factor: LOW. 

Worth it? Yes. This salsa is so easy to make. It makes 3 1/2 jars worth which is a huge savings!! Chips and salsa are a staple at our house and this recipe fits the bill. This is my new go to salsa recipe and I think it will be for a long time. Enjoy!

Posted by Sara J. 

Leave a Reply

Follow on WordPress.com
